Water Polo

The water polo tournaments shall be organised in accordance with the most recent technical regulations of the “Fédération Internationale de Natation” (FINA). The programme and duration of the competition will be fixed by the Executive Committee in agreement with the Organising Committee and the CTI. In principle, the competitions will last thirteen (13) days maximum and will include:

one (1) men's tournament: sixteen (16) teams maximum;
one (1) women’s tournament: eight (8) teams maximum.

Each country selected is authorised to enter one (1) team of thirteen (13) players.
Countries participating in the water polo tournament must bring with their delegation and at their own cost, one (1) international FINA referee.

More information about the water polo teams heading to the 2017 Summer Universiade coming soon...


  • AIS
  • AUS
  • Kukri