Commonwealth Games gold medallists Leiston Pickett and Ben Treffers are among a 19-strong Australian swim team named today for the 2017 World University Games, the Summer Universiade, in Taipei City, Taiwan from August 19-30.

Treffers (Australian National University) re-located to the Gold Coast in January to train at Somerset under Sydney 2000 Olympic relay gold medallist Ashley Callus – who is one of five coaches named on the team.

The 25-year-old gold medallist in the 50m backstroke at the last Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, and bronze medallist in the event from the 2015 world championships in Kazan, won the event for the fourth time at the recent Hancock Prospecting Australian Championships in Brisbane.

He was also a close up fourth in the 100m backstroke, won by world champion Mitch Larkin in an event that has strong depth in the Australian program.

Read more about the swimming team announcement here.

2017 Australian Summer Universiade Swimming Team

First Name Last Name Age Club State Tertiary Institution
Male Athletes        
Nicholas Brown 21 Western Sprint WA University of Western Australia
Kai Edwards 18 TSS Aquatics QLD Griffith University
Brayden McCarthy 19 Bond QLD Brisbane Tafe
Alex Milligan 19 UWA West Coast WA University of Western Australia
Josh Parrish 19 TSS Aquatics QLD Griffith University
Ollie Signorini 20 Carlile NSW University of Technology Sydney
Will Stockwell 21 Commercial QLD University of QLD
Benjamin Treffers 25 Somerset QLD Australian National University


Female Athletes
Meg Bailey 20 Hunter NSW Ohio State
Hayley Baker 21 Melbourne Vicentre VIC The University of Melbourne
Gemma Cooney 17 Brisbane Grammar QLD University of QLD
Abbey Harkin 18 St Peters Western QLD Griffith University
Kareena Lee 23 Mountain Creek Mooloolaba QLD University of Sunshine Coast
Kiah Melverton 20 TSS Aquatics QLD Griffith University
Leiston Pickett 25 Southport QLD Griffith University
Laura Taylor 17 TSS Aquatics QLD Bond
Emily Washer 20 Carlile NSW University of New South Wales
Sian Whittaker 19 Melbourne Vicentre VIC Deakin

Note: Jemma Schlicht has withdrawn due to injury


Team Leader
Lana McCloughan   Swimming Australia QLD  
Head Coach
Rohan Taylor   Nunawading SC VIC  
Team Coaches 
Glenn Baker   Southport QLD  
Ashley Callus   Somerset QLD  
Justin Rothwell   Carlile NSW  
Bud McAllister   WAIS WA  

2015 Gwangju Summer Universiade swimming results


  • AIS
  • AUS
  • Kukri